All In

My adventure as I jump into life all in!!

Santa Fe Chicken Enchilada Bake from Kraft Recipes

on May 9, 2013

Each week, I get an email from Kraft with a bunch of recipes. You can sign up for these recipes too at Kraft. Anyway a few weeks ago they had a recipe for their Santa Fe Enchilada Bake. It didn’t seem like it had a ton of complicated expensive ingredients, so I thought I’d try it out. For the full recipe, follow the link to their website.

The ingredients that it called for were:

1 lb Chicken breast

1 onion ($0.69)

1 pepper ($0.99)

1 16 oz jar of salsa ($2)

10 oz frozen corn ($1.99)

12 – 6 inch corn tortillas ($1.59)

1 cup sour cream ($1.19)

1.5 cups shredded cheese ($2)

Ingredients for Santa Fe Enchilada Bake

Ingredients for Santa Fe Enchilada Bake

So the ingredients I got were a bit different. There were only two chicken breasts left in the package since I had used it for other recipes. I got 2 cups of cheese instead of 1 and 1/2 cups (and used it all), the corn was a few ounces more than recommended, and I got flour tortillas instead of corn. I just don’t like corn tortillas, even in casseroles. The total spent for this meal was $10.45 not including the chicken (I had purchased that on a previous shopping trip). If I guess the cost of the whole bag of chicken at around $5, and that I only used 2 breasts out of the bag, it probably costs between $1.50 and $2 for the amount of chicken I used. So the cost of the mail was $12.45, which figures out to $1.55 per serving. The recipe says it makes 8 servings. Even if each person took two servings, that is $3.10 per person. I’d say this meal is definitely a budget meal.

Anyway, first, I chopped the veggies and chicken breast:

IMG_0408

Then, cook the chicken and veggies in a skillet for about 10 minutes while the oven preheats:

IMG_0410

Once the chicken is cooked through, mix in the corn and salsa:

IMG_0417

Then, line the bottom of your pan with tortilla’s and layer the veggie mix, sour cream, and cheese in, then another layer of tortillas, then veggie mix, sour cream and top with cheese. The recipe says to put six tortillas on the bottom, but to cover the baking dish, I only needed three or four.

IMG_0411 IMG_0419 IMG_0421

Here is the final product before I added tinfoil and put it in the oven:

IMG_0425

And here it is fresh out of the oven:

IMG_0429

The little white blobs are the sour cream underneath the layer of cheese. It spread out more on the middle layer. Overall, the recipe was pretty good. My hubby said it could have had less corn, but I didn’t mind it. I thought it could have used more zing, so maybe I’ll try a spicier salsa next time or add some green chiles or sprinkle green onions on top. But I think for $1.55 a serving, it was great! It definitely CAN serve up 8 servings, because I took a small corner and with both layers of stuff, it was VERY filling! I will be able to take the leftovers to work for lunch the next few days, so this meal will definitely live up to the value.

What are some budget friendly meals you’ve tried? How do you cut corners in your grocery budget? Do you make extra and have leftovers for lunch?

2 responses to “Santa Fe Chicken Enchilada Bake from Kraft Recipes

  1. eli says:

    very good explanation

  2. becbier says:

    Thanks! It was a delicious recipe. 🙂

Leave a Reply

